Virginia Town Sends Trick Or Treaters Over Age 12 To Jail For Six Months

We find this a little crazy! I guess there should be an age limit for trick or treating for safety reasons, but sending teenagers to jail seems a little much. Don't you agree?

For some Virginia towns, anyone over the age of 13 found out trick or treating this Halloween will face jail time for up to six months! They are treating going door to door, ringing or knocking, and expecting a treat for those over age 13 as a criminal offense.

and if you think that's extreme, check out some of these other laws implemented this Halloween! Halloween's all about being scared, but jail time? That may be a little too scary. 

Trick Or Treating

In Portsmouth, trick or treating is only allowed between 5 pm - 8 pm and is for children 12 and under.

In Newport, you are allowed to trick or treat through 7th grade or age 12 (whichever comes first) and no accompanying parent or guardian can wear a costume of any kind. 

In Chesapeake, they are prosecuting anyone (of any age) found out trick or treating past 8:00 pm with up to 30 days of jail time and a fine of $25-$100. 

At least Halloween is on a Wednesday this year so with school the next day, hopefully, no one will be tempted to stay out past 8:00 pm. 

What do you think about this?

Source: CBS KUTV

title

Content Goes Here